Motoring Discussion > Gallons or litres? Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Old Navy Replies: 45

Gallons or litres? - Old Navy
The government must love the switch to litres, 3p more tax on a litre sounds much better than a 14p increase on a gallon. Should we switch to miles per litre?
 Gallons or litres? - Dutchie
Does it make any difference if you get sh..... by the litre or the gallon Old Navy.Might sound better in litres.
 Gallons or litres? - WillDeBeest
What 'switch to litres'? I've been buying petrol or diesel since 1989, and it's been priced in litres all that time.

Might as well bewail the 'switch to decimal currency', or the 'switch to the gregorian calendar'.
Last edited by: WillDeBeest on Sat 14 Apr 12 at 21:33
>> What 'switch to litres'? I've been buying petrol or diesel since 1989, and it's been
>> priced in litres all that time.
>>
>> Might as well bewail the 'switch to decimal currency', or the 'switch to the gregorian
>> calendar'.
>>

So why do we still have miles per gallon?

I buy my fuel by the tankfull.
Last edited by: Old Navy on Sat 14 Apr 12 at 21:56
 Gallons or litres? - Runfer D'Hills
I measure fuel consumption in pence per mile. The rest is a ball of chalk.
 Gallons or litres? - Dave_
Didn't we have something similar the other day??

I'm a gallons man despite being born 18 months after UK decimalisation. I think in mpg, my car is set to show mpg and I mentally convert litres to gallons at the pump.

I know that 50mpg is OK, but I wouldn't know whether to pull an impressed face or a disapproving one at a figure of, say, 7 litres/100km.
 Gallons or litres? - -
Agree with Dave, i see such consumption figures in some on board carputor displays, might as well have been Mandarin for all it tells me.

Most of these changes have masked hefty price rises whilst dick turpin's spin doctor has been telling all and sundry what they wanted to hear.