Motoring Discussion > Help clueless about what to buy Buying / Selling
Thread Author: Charlie100 Replies: 19

Help clueless about what to buy - Charlie100
Hi everyone I would be very grateful for your help.

I am looking to buy a car to drive about 50 miles a week to the local gym, the supermarket and a couple of work placements. I could spend up to a grand (but less would be better). I am a student so I really want something that is fuel efficient and cheap to insure (I am a 28 year old female if that factors into the insurance). Thanks very much for your help.
 Help clueless about what to buy - Leif
I'm pretty ignorant about cars, but I suspect that if you buy a car for that price you will have high servicing costs as it will be old and knackered. However it sounds like you need a city car or supermicni (Nissan Micra, Vauxhall Corsa, Ford Ka etc). Your best bet might be to find one being sold by an old dear, who has looked after it. I have no idea how to find such a car. Perhaps a relative has one? If you are lucky, you know someone who can go with you when you view a private sale. I would avoid garages.
 Help clueless about what to buy - Dog
Something along these lines perhaps:

www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1997-TOYOTA-STARLET-SPORTIF-3-Dr-MOTHER-DAUGHTER-OWNED-84-000-MILES-FSH-BILLS-/320919242123?pt=Automobiles_UK&hash=item4ab847058b
 Help clueless about what to buy - Ted

I agree with the Dog. Nice looking little car. Toyota, Nissan Micra or good Sunny owned by pensioner giving up. Chain cam a good bet, someone will tell you about that.

You'll get a lot of help here on the technical side if you need it.

Good hunting.

Ted
 Help clueless about what to buy - CGNorwich
Not wishing to be negative but if you can only afford less than a grand can you really afford to run a car at the moment? Insurance could easily cost you that and so could a major mechanical problem which is a distinct possibility for a sub £1,000 car.