Motoring Discussion > Driving a LHD car Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Mapmaker Replies: 61

Driving a LHD car - Mapmaker
Any comments or top tips? I've never done it before, and am quite looking forward to it. (Sitting in the passenger side of a LHD car always feels pretty strange!)
 Driving a LHD car - Badwolf
Are you driving it here, or abroad? I've done the former but never the latter.
 Driving a LHD car - Runfer D'Hills
Feels entirely natural when driving on the right. Can't say I notice any significant difference. If anything, I actually prefer changing gear with my right hand.
 Driving a LHD car - idle_chatterer
I find it completely natural, in fact as a left-handed person I possibly find it easier than an RHD car.

I've never driven an LHD car in the UK mind you but I have driven my RHD UK cars in Europe a fair bit and that isn't exactly difficult either.

It is no big deal, simply don't worry about it.
 Driving a LHD car - DP
The only thing I really find is that gear changes feel very awkward at first. It's probably worst for me being left handed, but I find myself almost doing the slow, deliberate shifts of a learner driver for the first few miles. It is amazing how quickly it feels natural though. I drove a left hook Audi A4 in Germany for a fortnight a few years back, and getting back in my car at Gatwick felt very odd indeed initially.
 Driving a LHD car - sooty123
It's not really a problem, like above the gear change is a bit odd at first but that's about it. You'll pick it up quickly.
Abroad.

Unimpressed nobody has yet warned me the pedals are the wrong way round too... ;)
 Driving a LHD car - Focusless
And don't forget the steering wheel is reversed too - turn it left to go right.
>> And don't forget the steering wheel is reversed too - turn it left to go
>> right.

Seriously? Is that easy to get used to?
 Driving a LHD car - Focusless
>> >> And don't forget the steering wheel is reversed too - turn it left to go right.
>>