Motoring Discussion > Google Maps journey times Miscellaneous
Thread Author: tyro Replies: 15

Google Maps journey times - tyro
I've been checking journey times on Google Maps for some journeys I do regularly.

What I have been finding is that they are pretty generous.

One journey that takes me 24 or 25 minutes is listed by Google at 30 minutes.

A couple of journeys that take me about an hour (and which, when I was young and in a hurry, I could do in 52 or 53 minutes) are listed at an hour and 15 minutes.

Another journey which would take me 50 minutes if I was in a hurry and 55 more usually, is listed at an hour and 8 minutes.

And no, before anyone says it, it's not because I'm a particularly speedy driver, or because I know the roads well. These estimates all err on the generous side.

Have other people here found that the same is true for journeys that they make frequently?
 Google Maps journey times - PeterS
I agree; even on routes I don't know the google maps journey time is significantly longer than the satnav in the car thinks and, bar any major traffic problems, the car's satnav is usually pretty accurate. On which note, am I the only one who sees the estimated arrival time calculated at the beginning of the journey as a target to beat ;-)
 Google Maps journey times - Alastairw
No you are not, Peter. On A roads I can usually beat my Tomtom's eta. If the journey is mostly motorway, it is usually more accurate.
>> On which note, am I the only one who sees the estimated arrival time calculated at the beginning of the journey as a target to beat ;-)
>>

Well, if I had been in possession of a satnav when I was younger, I undoubtedly would have, since I used to take an interest in seeing how quickly I could get between destinations.

Now that I'm middle aged, I get my entertainment from seeing how many miles per gallon I am getting, and how many miles I can get on a tank of fuel.

And I still get there faster than Google Maps predicts!