Motoring Discussion > Transferring a registration number Miscellaneous
Thread Author: L'escargot Replies: 25

Transferring a registration number - L'escargot
For no reason other than it's something I've never done before, I'd like to transfer the registration number of my current car to my next (new) car. I understand that the dealer can arrange this. Normally when trading in for a new car, the new car is registered in advance of the actually swap, but I can't see how this could be the case if the number is being transferred. It's obvious that at no point can the two cars have the same registration number, so how is the transfer actually carried out? Is there likely to be a time delay between handing in the old car and driving away the new car?
 Transferring a registration number - Manatee
The dealer will do the transfer and you'll be able to drive in with the old one and out with the new. Your car will have been allocated a new number so will need new plates afterwards.
Thanks Manatee. It sounds as if you're speaking from personal experience.
 Transferring a registration number - Duncan
Is it SNA 1 L?
 Transferring a registration number - WillDeBeest
Given its vintage and its owner's tendency to protest too much, I suspect it's TR53 HGR.
}:---)
>> Is it SNA 1 L?
>>

Give me a wave if you see me! platewave.com/SNA1L
 Transferring a registration number - CGNorwich
What is this new car? Did you go for the Volvo?
>> What is this new car? Did you go for the Volvo?
>>

A V40 with T4 petrol engine is still currently at the top of my wish list. I'm going to want a 100 mile test drive to confirm it's the one. It'll probably be next spring.
You certainly like to plan ahead!
>> You certainly like to plan ahead!
>>

I don't spend large sums of money like this without a lot of research into all the options. Buy in haste, repent at leisure is my maxim.
 Transferring a registration number - Duncan
>>