Motoring Discussion > Key removed, engine still runs Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Ambo Replies: 22

Key removed, engine still runs - Ambo
Just heard of a man who, on finding his car get very hot, pulled off the road and bundled his family out for fear it would catch fire. Retreating to a safe distance, he realised he had the ingition key in his hand but the engine was still running. Somebody stopped and blocked the air filter to stop it. That's all I know but how could it happen?

If it was a petrol engine, cutting the ignition should stop it. If it was diesel - well exactly how is a diesel vehicle engine stopped via the key? I have no experience of diesel vehicles but the three diesel boat engines I have had were, if memory serves, stopped via a tug on a piece of wire which opened a cylinder valve, so decompression did the trick.
 Key removed, engine still runs - Fenlander
Sounds a bit like this one... www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sg4YSk7aL8k
 Key removed, engine still runs - Notdoctorchris
With a diesel, although the fuel would have been cut off the engine can run on the oil in an overfull sump which can result from the regeneration process of the DPF.
However, I remember my friend, in the 70s, driving his dad's Morris 1800 with the ignition key in the dashboard so no steering lock. The worn lock allowed him to ease the key out whilst driving and with the engine still running.
 Key removed, engine still runs - Harleyman
Used to be known as "running on", you don't see it very often these days, probably due to cleaner fuels.

IIRC it was caused by a combination of excess carbon deposits and incorrect ignition timing.

Key removed, engine still runs - Zero
There is "running on" and runaway diesels consuming its own engine oils. They are completely different. "running on" usually stopped after a short while.
 Key removed, engine still runs - TeeCee