Motoring Discussion > Mercedes Benz B-Class - Mercedes B class auto and dpf query Buying / Selling
Thread Author: belucky22 Replies: 16

Mercedes Benz B-Class - Mercedes B class auto and dpf query - belucky22
I am new to site and beginning with a request for advice re Mercedes B Class diesel tip CVT 2008 with 35,000 miles on the clock. First query is when is a new dpf likely to be needed ? Is doing short drives actually harmful to a diesel or does it just not clean dpf ? How reliable is the auto transmission and any comments about use ?

Also interested in Hyundai i20 petrol automatic 2013, 3,000 miles on clock. What is the auto like on these ? How good are Hyundai ?

Thanks in advance for any help.
 Mercedes Benz B-Class - Mercedes B class auto and dpf query - Zero
>> I am new to site and beginning with a request for advice re Mercedes B
>> Class diesel tip CVT 2008 with 35,000 miles on the clock. First query is when
>> is a new dpf likely to be needed ? Is doing short drives actually harmful
>> to a diesel or does it just not clean dpf ? How reliable is the
>> auto transmission and any comments about use ?

Short drives will mean there is a likelyhood of suffering DPF problems at a later date. They may be expensive to fix. However if i were you, I would drive one first. The Diesel B class with CVT is a horrid beast constantly droning in your ear all the time. See if you can live with the noise first.
 Mercedes Benz B-Class - Mercedes B class auto and dpf query - Bigtee
Short drives it won't get hot enough to regen properly, you would be better off with a petrol.

Or you may need to take the diesel for a long fast run to get it to blow out.
Thanks for this. Although I would prefer a petrol I've been told that diesels are better for automatics, particularly CVT. Is this true ?
 Mercedes Benz B-Class - Mercedes B class auto and dpf query - Manatee
>> Thanks for this. Although I would prefer a petrol I've been told that diesels are