Motoring Discussion > Used car warranties Tax / Insurance / Warranties
Thread Author: Roger. Replies: 10

Used car warranties - Roger.
Has anyone had real life experience of claiming on a semi-auto gearbox under an aftermarket warranty?
Looking at the T &Cs it seems that auto gearbox cover seems only to home in on torque converter types.
 Used car warranties - Skip
Roger, I have no actual experience of the above, but as is often said on here most of these aftermarket warranties are pretty much worthless anyway.
 Used car warranties - The Nut
tinyurl.com/lmuda7y

From family members who have tried to claim I know that electronic handbrakes are not covered, only traditional manual ones, never heard of a manual handbrake failure on non banger car except those which released as the discs cooled and that wasn't something that could be repaired.
Last edited by: The Nut on Sat 17 Aug 13 at 13:29
 Used car warranties - RattleandSmoke
It is a total scam, only covering things they know are unlikely to go wrong and not covering expensive faults.
 Used car warranties - -
Roger, it has to be said you're playing the motoring equivalent of Russian roulette considering an out of makers warranty car with an automated manual box.

I've read nearly all the replies to your thread about these things, most people prepared to buy them are those likely to replace them once or shortly after the makers warranty expires.

Best of luck if you do go down this road, i haven't the foggiest idea if the insurer will fork out on a repair but it proves you are not happy about the potential reliability as you are asking specifically about the box going wrong before even buying one, why put yourself through this?

I suspect the aftermarket warranty cost would more than cover the difference in VED costs if you went for a more robust standard TC auto.
Yup - I've shelved the idea of an automated manual after talking to a dealer selling an 18,000 mile, ex Motability, Citroen C3 sensodrive. 2005 reg.