Motoring Discussion > Tyres size relationship to comfort Accessories and Parts
Thread Author: scot22 Replies: 16

Tyres size relationship to comfort - scot22
I have read that the smaller tyre size gives a more comfortable suspension and ride. However, I do not understand why this is the case. I would be grateful if anyone could explain simply ( I'm not technical ) why and the relationship between tyre choice and comfort. Of necessity comfort is important in my choice of car.
 Tyres size relationship to comfort - Lygonos
I think you mean smaller wheels, with the same overall wheel-tyre diameter.

If you make the wheel smaller (say from 18" to 15") then you have less solid metal and more flexible rubber (3" more in this example) to cushion the imperfections on the road.
 Tyres size relationship to comfort - Bromptonaut
I think the issue may be wheel size where differing wheel/tyre combos are offered but with same rolling radius. Clutching at numbers model X may be offered with a 16 inch wheel and 70% profile tyre or 18 inch wheels with a much lower profile - eventually you end up with rubber bands.

The higher profile tyre has some flex in the sidewall at the expense of 'absolute' handling.

I'd be chary of very low profile tyres on a car for ordinary family use.
 Tyres size relationship to comfort - Fullchat
When you mean 'size' do you mean profile, width or overall diameter?

Generally the lower the profile the less give in the sidewalls. Vehicle feels more planted but ride quality suffers. This is magnified by increase in width because there is greater contact with the road surface. Overall diameter makes no difference in straight line comfort but increases the ride height therefore the centre of gravity which can induce less stability on corners. Choosing is a compromise.
 Tyres size relationship to comfort - Mike H
>> When you mean 'size' do you mean profile, width or overall diameter?
>>