Motoring Discussion > Waze Computing Issues
Thread Author: Roger. Replies: 34

Waze - Roger.
Waze v Google maps. Real world opinions anyone?
 Waze - smokie
None really.

My Waze trial was a couple of years back and I wasn't that impressed with it, the a rumour came around that it was going to become paid-for and I haven't bothered with it again.

I did try to wean myself off Google maps while abroad but, like Microsoft products under Windows, it seemed the best integrated and gave me all I needed, in a clear and easy to understand way. It's probably the same with all products but I was so impressed that it can even tell me what to expect to see on road signs at my junctions wherever I am in the world, also I liked that it worked across some fairly barren bits of the US (e.g. Death Valley)
 Waze - Crankcase
I used to be a Waze editor, back when it started.

At that time even Google maps was pretty poor, and Waze was a bit better and more innovative. But still poor., I thought.

I tried Waze again recently and wasn't that impressed. Google maps has come on hugely (of course, they own Waze now as well anyway).

So today, if you don't want a dedicated TomTom (my preference still) or Garmin, I'd be going for Google maps.

The TomTom Mobile app on the iPhone is actually pretty good, but not that cheap.
 Waze - R.P.
Downloaded it in the USA as free Navigation 2013. Not much screen appeal -still in my phone. In fact opened it up now to check out a route we're using tomorrow. I'll ping the route to my car now and see what it comes up with now in comparison.
 Waze - No FM2R
Both determine detail a route pretty well, and pretty efficiently based on map information (rather than traffic or other incident) and both seem equally correct.

Waze really good on real-time information from other users. Really good on understanding local, temporary changes. Picks up on police presence / accidents really quickly.