Motoring Discussion > Tricks of the trade revealed Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Iffy Replies: 11

Tricks of the trade revealed - Iffy
Wooden ducks, low balling and ankle tapping.

Know what I mean, squire?

tinyurl.com/2vpgk74
 Tricks of the trade revealed - Bellboy
could be worse you could be a shorts wearing mushta
 Tricks of the trade revealed - Stuu
Dunno who wrote that junk but the lingo is so far outta date, it must be some kinda recycled stuff from an older article from 20 years back atleast. Someone is trying to appear cleverer than they are.

I never heard salesmen talk like that, they just didnt. They spoke normally or as normally as jumped up nobodys do.
...They spoke normally or as normally as jumped up nobodys do...

'Ere, I'll have you know I was a car salesman - and I agree with you.

We didn't use those terms.
Last edited by: Iffy on Fri 15 Oct 10 at 16:17
 Tricks of the trade revealed - Stuu
No offense Iffy, its just that every car salesman ive ever met through my trade has been some twerp who frankly has no more skills in sales than those sign up merchants who sell electrical goods. You wouldnt know it to see them prance about the place though.

The properly great salesmen are few and far between in car sales. Ive met two, one was a serial womaniser ( and family man ), the other, well he sells Astons now. Funny enough, I liked the first one best although wouldnt trust as far as I could throw him, nor should his customers!
...No offense Iffy...

None taken.

We didn't have that type at the place where I worked, which is probably why I fitted in OK.

But they do exist.

As you say, even those wallys didn't use the terms in the article.

Tricks of the trade revealed - bathtub tom
I would've thought that with the average intelligence of the car salesmen I've met, they don't stay in the trade long enough to learn these euphemisms.

They go to work in Currys/Dixons/Halfords. ;>)
 Tricks of the trade revealed - Skoda