Motoring Discussion > Should driving be a proper qualification? Miscellaneous
Thread Author: RattleandSmoke Replies: 30

Should driving be a proper qualification? - RattleandSmoke
In the national framework there doesn't seem to be any qualifications for driving other than NVQs. This seems quite wrong, surely if you have a licence to drive a truck that should be classed as a proper qualification in the national framework?

Even a standard driving licence should be? I have a degree and passed lots of tests/exams in my life time and to be fair while I found the theory element of the driving test the most easy tests I have done in my life the practical test was by far the hardest.

I think what I am getting at even if a person has no formal qualifications and no GCSEs/O levels etc but has a driving licence surely that should count as a formal qualification?

In Manchester for example 22.1 per cent of adults have no formal qualifications but I bet a good percentage of that have a driving licence so if a GCSE in media studies counts as a formal qualification surely a driving licence should?

Should driving be a proper qualification? - Dave_
Well ever since I passed my car test at 17 I've put on my CV that I hold a full driving licence, even before I was driving for a living. I took lessons in it and met the required standard when assessed so I reckon it counts as a qualification.

>> if you have a licence to drive a truck
>> there doesn't seem to be any qualifications for driving other than NVQs

Someone'll be along in about 4 hours who'll put you straight on that! ;)
I know there is professional qualifications you take for truck driving other than the driving licence which are proper recognised qualifications and some of them such as diplomas will be included in the national qualifications framework however surely just the passing the HGV driving tests alone should count?