Motoring Discussion > I've got someone nicked Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Iffy Replies: 33

I've got someone nicked - Iffy
Only for misuse of a blue badge, but it could still be a conviction under the Fraud Act.

A couple of days ago I saw a middle-aged couple park a newish BMW in a disabled space, display their badge, and walk normally down a path until I lost sight of them.

I'm no expert on badges, but have been assessed for one.

The determining factor appeared to be my inability to walk more than a few metres, so it seemed to me the BMW couple would not be likely to qualify.

Strapping granny in the back to enable the user to nip to the bank is one thing, but this was taking the mick.

I took a note of the badge number and emailed the issuing authority, inviting them to look into the use of the badge.

I didn't expect a response, let alone the result of the inquiry.

But an email landed this afternoon telling me the use looked fraudulent, not least because the registered badge holder is dead.

The matter, I was told, is now in the hands of the council's enforcement team and the police.

Hardly crime of the century, but some local authorities like to prosecute as an example to others.

So I might be responsible for an otherwise law-abiding couple getting a criminal record.

Good enough for them - their choice to misuse the badge.

I've got someone nicked - rtj70
Well done iffy. They shouldn't have been using it should they. They should have returned the badge when the person died.
 I've got someone nicked - Dave_
>> They should have returned the badge when the person died.

They can't have had a very high opinion of the deceased.
 I've got someone nicked - Meldrew
I am pleased, but surprised, that you were given that much information - Data Protection and all that.
 I've got someone nicked - rtj70
You're right Meldrew - with Data Protection excuses we don't often get told much.