Non-motoring > Credit rating Miscellaneous
Thread Author: L'escargot Replies: 7

Credit rating - L'escargot
Is it possible to not have a credit rating?
 Credit rating - -
I'm no expert but when we wanted a small finance deal a few years ago we were refused...because we didn't owe anyone anything had no credit card and had no history, never missed a mortgage payment since i had one at age 21 either.
Present credit card obtained for and only used for online purchases and cleared by DD immediately.

Financial chap told me they prefer people who might miss the odd payment/need to extend terms etc and incur lucrative penalty charges.

Maybe this is rubbish, but it made sense.
 Credit rating - Manatee
Long answer warning, but I do this stuff for a living among other things so I should contribute:

>> Is it possible to not have a credit rating?

Not really, but a relative absence of information about you makes a decision for a lender harder and it's more the case than it used to be that a blank history will create difficulty.

When I got into the credit industry 30 years ago, a clear record usually meant a successful application; now, when the norm is much more for people to have credit cards and bank accounts, an absence of information is unusual and is more associated with instability (moving around) and bad outcomes.

Lenders use a credit reference agency to support their decisions. You can break the information into chunks.

1. Can they find you? The essential pre-condition. They pass your name, address and DoB to the CRA. If the CRA can't find any record of you, then you could say that's tantamount to not having a rating, and it's pretty certain you won't get what you're applying for. Keys to 'finding' you are the electoral roll, and/or other credit agreements past and present. If you aren't on the roll, and have no credit at all, you may have a problem especially if there is no-one else with your surname at your address.