Non-motoring > A counterfeit coin was confiscated by my bank! Miscellaneous
Thread Author: L'escargot Replies: 23

A counterfeit coin was confiscated by my bank! - L'escargot
When I tried to buy something at a local shop, the shop assistant refused to take a £1 coin I proffered because she thought it was counterfeit. I took it to my bank for confirmation and they confiscated it! I didn't question the bank's authority to do that, but I'd have liked to have kept it as a conversation piece. The only sign that it wasn't genuine was that the golden colour was starting to wear off, revealing a silvery colour underneath.

You have been warned!
 A counterfeit coin was confiscated by my bank! - swiss tony
I think I have seen one of those, if you look closely is has something like 'euro' on it.. feels cheap and nasty to me! ;-)

reminds me of the Irish counterfeiters, who were making 10p's by filing the corners off 50p's....

I know you were joking but ........ I studied mine closely and compared it with a genuine coin, and the only difference I could see was in the surface colour. Unfortunately I don't have the means to compare weights of such small items.
Last edited by: L'escargot on Sun 30 May 10 at 10:25
 A counterfeit coin was confiscated by my bank! - Robin O'Reliant
You're lucky it was only a quid.

I had a counterfeit twenty note confiscated years ago when I was paying a deposit into the bank.
 A counterfeit coin was confiscated by my bank! - Ted
Erin Dors lost £40 like this. She got some dosh from the machine at the Abby National and went in to change 2 twenties for coin or smaller notes. They were both hooky and they called the Law. In spite of getting them from a machine 15 ft from the counter, there was no proof that they were the same notes.....she lost them with no recompense.

Ted
Last edited by: VxFan on Sun 30 May 10 at 21:00
 A counterfeit coin was confiscated by my bank! - Clk Sec