Non-motoring > New logo phones and where to hide them Miscellaneous
Thread Author: henry k Replies: 14

New logo phones and where to hide them - henry k
www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-23782136
 New logo phones and where to hide them - sherlock47
Ill thought out out to ban the sale to prevent use in the prison population as they will still get into the UK from abroad, and hence into prisons. Since 7000 mobiles (tip of iceberg?) were confiscated in prisons last year, surely much better to concentrate on installing blocking /monitoring technology in what is only a few institutions in the UK.
 New logo phones and where to hide them - Meldrew
Despite the use and ownership of mobiles being illegal in prisons using blocking technology would doubtless turn out to be a breach of the poor darling's human rights! Seriously I think it might be hard to block signals in some of the very old thick walled prisons but I am not a telecoms expert!
 New logo phones and where to hide them - CGNorwich
I seem to remember that the Scots intended to pass legislation to make blocking mobile phone signals in prisons possible.

However there would be a lot of practical difficulties. Many prisons (Norwich for example) are in populated areas and you would have to ensure that the blocking did not extend beyond the walls of the prison
 New logo phones and where to hide them - Cliff Pope
It's silly trying to ban inventions. They will get through anyway.
The next generation of phones will be implanted microchips, activated by brainwaves.

Another approach would be to accept that prisoners have mobile phones, but to restrict their freedoms in other ways. Just let them talk as much as they want.
 New logo phones and where to hide them - Zero
So let me see. We have to ban any items that might be used by prisoners in Jail. So all knives and forks will be banned, right? Lighters? ipods?

The rest of the population have to be restricted? Who the hell is doing time, us or them?