Non-motoring > Burglar alarms Miscellaneous
Thread Author: - Replies: 58

Burglar alarms - -
After much thought about things following the ''rude awakening'' thread, and SWM's copper daughter reckons it was a potential burglary we have decided to upgrade the burglar alarm.

Son reckons another possible target if this is dodgy might be my old MB, possibly valuable in some eastern european countries in its condition, if not for parts alone.

The present alarm is wired, but we have added 2 x porches and 1 x conservatory since which are not covered and the system must be 20 years old so probably not worth extending, the main house is alarmed and with proper doors between house and plastic extensions but obviously once inside under cover they could work on the main doors in comfort, plus any window could be a possible enrty point.

Thing is i'm no DIY expert, indeed far from it.

Is this something i could tackle with a kit, if so what sort and where from, or should we go with the pro's, if so whom or rather who do we avoid?
Bungalow with 3 beds plus bathroom plus conservatory plus two porches.

Cost isn't so much of a consideration as a good system that we can both operate easily, and i can re-arm quietly when i leave without waking SWM for work early morn.
 Burglar alarms - Fursty Ferret
Just get a wireless kit.
 Burglar alarms - Zero
If you are intent on DIY, I have installed this in my place, my mothers place and for a friend

www.screwfix.com/p/yale-premium-wireless-4-room-alarm-kit/54473?kpid=54473&cm_mmc=Google-_-Product%20Listing%20Ads-_-Sales%20Tracking-_-sales%20tracking%20url&gclid=COLz0ce-qLoCFVMftAodhWwAMA#product_additional_details_container

Its really easy, very flexible and very expandable

www.free-instruction-manuals.com/pdf/p47111755.pdf

Planning is key
 Burglar alarms - Old Navy