Non-motoring > Autumn statement Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Crankcase Replies: 40

Autumn statement - Crankcase
So, having listened to St George do his thing, the end result in terms of direct impact on me, is nothing whatsoever one way or the other as far as I can tell.

How about you?
 Autumn statement - Roger.
We old gits have done well: OAP up by £3.35 per week.
 Autumn statement - Robin O'Reliant
No change for me.
 Autumn statement - legacylad
I don't think I can receive my State Pension until I'm 66. Fortunately, if I withdraw the full amount of my personal allowance each year from my half decent private pension it will last me till I'm 65, so no need to panic yet. I've already spent the 25% tax free lump sum. I've been driving around in it for six years. Hopefully I won't croak whilst there's still some money in the pot so I need to live another 5 years until it's all gone. Then either downsize and spend the released capital or find a rich woman. Fingers crossed!
 Autumn statement - Falkirk Bairn
>> We old gits have done well: OAP up by £3.35 per week.
>>
Don't let the "pay rise" go to your head blow it all away on a pint!
 Autumn statement - Stuartli
>>Don't let the "pay rise" go to your head blow it all away on a pint!>>

I'd still have 40p left towards the next pint of Guinness...:-)
 Autumn statement - bathtub tom
>> We old gits have done well: OAP up by £3.35 per week.

Wasn't that promised in the Spring budget? IIRC 2.9%.
 Autumn statement - Manatee
Had to turn it off, his tone makes me puke. And he'll be the next PM unless Boris sees him off, thanks to Labour's death wish.

I did hear something about help to buy, and £40,000 interest free loans to help people buy houses, "we are the builders!". How can these people be so thick as to think that will not make prices rise faster? They aren't of course - just self-serving, conceited, entitled, pragmatic, cynical and bent.
 Autumn statement - CGNorwich