Non-motoring > London house prices Buying / Selling
Thread Author: legacylad Replies: 14

London house prices - legacylad
I have no personal experience of them, but chatting to my neighbours over the fence yesterday their son & DiL live in some suburb or other. I forget which. Five years ago, they bought a 2 bed maisonette/ flat type property for £260k. Last week they put it on the market at £530k and within two days were offered the full asking price. No major renovation work was done on the property... Just an internal redecoration. So much interest was shown that they are now holding an open day and offers are by sealed bid. The original prospective purchaser has approached them and offered to beat the highest sealed bid by £2k.
That leaves it open to exploitation if you were so inclined, and I have no idea if the prospective purchasers have a property to sell, but the situation makes me quite sad that young people in that part of the UK have little chance of getting on the housing ladder unless serious action is taken to provide affordable first homes for people. And the mechanics of that are a nightmare.
Otoh a plumber friend has just bought a 3 bed terrace in Padiham ( east Lancs) for £60k and will do it up in his spare time.
 London house prices - Ambo
The young couple could move to Padiham, buy one such house and use the rest of the money to buy a few more, then live off the rents. If they stay in London they will find it hard to get back on the ladder.
 London house prices - commerdriver
>> The young couple could move to Padiham, buy one such house and use the rest
>> of the money to buy a few more, then live off the rents. If they
>> stay in London they will find it hard to get back on the ladder.
>>
Fine, if they want to give up on whatever career or job they have in London.
For most people the area they live in has some job connection. I can't understand anyone wanting to live in London if they do not have to, but many millions probably do.