Non-motoring > First Visit to USA Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Bromptonaut Replies: 67

First Visit to USA - Bromptonaut
Neither Mrs B or I have ever travelled outside Europe.

She has need/opportunity to attend an academic conference in San Antonio (Texas) over a weekend in late April. We're thinking of extending stay to 10 or so days and making a holiday of it.

Immediate thought was to fly to Houston (Singapore Airlines had good fares from Manchester) and spend a bit of time either before or after exploring the city/surroundings. Particular interest in Johnson Space Centre which I guess is worth a day or so. Likely to hire a car, any other ‘must see’ suggestions for area.

Drive Houston to San Antonio seems to be around 4hrs. Worth it for experience or better to take a flight? .

Another option would be to go via NYC and take in the sights/tourist stuff thereabouts before (or after) taking a connection to SA.

Bearing in mind we’re complete newbies to US I’d welcome comments, suggestions and warnings of bear traps.

As she’s not going solely as a tourist are visas likely to be more complicated?

For info, I’ve x/posted on the Old Flatulents Forum too.
 First Visit to USA - smokie
Houston > San Antonio is more like 2.5 hrs drive than 4. Hardly worth getting a flight, once you've checked in an hour before blah blah.. Mostly I've found driving pretty easy going (though often quite boring as not a lot of scenery) in the States, especially on the highways, but you might be well advised to avoid rush hours round big cities.

I looked at including Houston in my recent US tour but my mate out there said it's probably not "my kind of place". There is loads to see there though, and one excursion I had an eye on was a drive out Galveston way, but I don't recall exactly where to or why!!!