Non-motoring > Clearing out junk Miscellaneous
Thread Author: bathtub tom Replies: 15

Clearing out junk - bathtub tom
I'm having a clear out of old, unused stuff. Putting it on Freecycle with the more valuable items going on Gumtree and facebook market place.
I keep getting 'is this available messages?', with no follow up if I confirm it is. Once getting the message within a minute of posting the item.
Is it some kind of code I don't understand?
 Clearing out junk - Manatee
Try saying no, and see what happens?
 Clearing out junk - legacylad
I’ve been decluttering my life for a few months now. Getting a new combi boiler and removing 2 CW storage tanks in the loft was a good reason to sort it.
Lots of stuff to charity shops, but other stuff they don’t accept. Cue ‘seek and sell’ websites, I advertise as free and give my phone number. Lots and lots of messages but very few people phone. Those that do get first dibs.
I reply to messages saying the free item is still available, and that’s the last I hear. How odd.
 Clearing out junk - The Melting Snowman
>> Is it some kind of code I don't understand?

No I don't think so. It's just someone inadvertently clicking the button.

I've used FB Marketplace a lot recently, with stuff from two family house clearances and some of our own decluttering. I find it excellent. You get the odd time-waster but overall my experiences have been positive. In fact I stopped using freecycle a while ago and just put stuff on Marketplace listed as 'free to collector'. It's amazing what people will take if free, even part-used tins of paint.
 Clearing out junk - No FM2R
>>No I don't think so. It's just someone inadvertently clicking the button.

Exactly that. Easily done.
 Clearing out junk - legacylad