Non-motoring > Cost of heating by oil Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Crankcase Replies: 29

Cost of heating by oil - Crankcase
I know it's been a cold winter, but I'm wondering whether my heating oil bills are way out of line with others. Just a hint as to "high", "very high" or "stratospheric" would be good.

If in fact this is about normal, then I'll stop fidgeting.

I've used £559 worth of oil in the last 50 days. Three bed detached.

Cost of heating by oil - Iffy
Eighty pounds a week, and presumably some electric to see where you are going and keep the gadgets glowing.

Seems like a lot to spend on energy to me.

I've no knowledge of heating oil, but I don't think you'd be spending that on gas central heating/cooking.

Hope you were nice and toasty warm, I'd want to be for that money.

Cost of heating by oil - -
Three bed det bungalow, gas heating and water only, cost £50/60 a week to heat during the cold spell, we do have the place warm.
boilers about 20 now though, and i really should get it renewed, but they keep patching it up.
Last edited by: gordonbennet on Fri 19 Mar 10 at 09:34
 Cost of heating by oil - Arctophile
You are using oil at about twice the rate I am in my 3 bed semi. I have used approx 800 litres since I last filled up on 20th Dec 2009 (~90 days). This is a little higher than recent years.

Incidently, www.boilerjuice.com is a good place to monitor the typical price of heating oil. Their graph indicates that the current average price is about 45p per litre.
Last edited by: Arctophile on Fri 19 Mar 10 at 09:36
 Cost of heating by oil - tyro
Since we don't heat our house to a uniformly constant temperature, I can't comment on our oil usage.

I can, however, tell you that I had a delivery of oil a few weeks ago, and it was the most expensive oil I've ever bought. But if you study the Boilerjuice site, this probably won't surprise you.
 Cost of heating by oil - Dog
We spent £350 on gas cen. heating over 90 days.