Non-motoring > Exploding hairdryer Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Alanovich Replies: 47

Exploding hairdryer - Alanovich
No, not a Vespa.

My wife called me at work this morning in a bit of a tizzy. Apparently she was drying her hair with her celebrity hairdresser-branded paint stripper, sorry, hairdryer, when for no apparent reason it issues a tremendous bang, catches fire and starts belching smoke everywhere.

Fortunately the flames receded quickly and no harm was done, other than to the good lady's nerves.

The device is around 2 years old I'd guess.

I've not been able to inspect the device yet, and I have very little knowledge of the workings of electrical devices, but can anyone suggest a reason for such a sudden catastrophic failure? Would there be any point sending it to the manufacturer to see if they’re prepared to offer a replacement or some such?

She does leave the thing plugged in to the mains when not in use - is this dangerous practice for such a device?

Exploding hairdryer - Zero
They (along with irons) have a nasty habit of breaking mains leads near to the handle. Big bang and not much smoke tho when that happens.

Here's a small outside bet. I bet its a dual voltage jobbie, and yup she has managed to switch it to 110 v.

Here's my fiver on the table.

Either way its toast, bin it.
 Exploding hairdryer - Fenlander
People rarely clean out the hair/fluff that's drawn into the inlet grille/filter so they overheat... I thought they had some kind of cutout but ours smells really hot without cutting out.

If it is a top brand could it be a fake... there were loads of fake expensive hair straighteners on Ebay a while back.
>> People rarely clean out the hair/fluff that's drawn into the inlet grille/filter so they overheat...

Knowing Mrs A, that's my favourite theory so far..............
 Exploding hairdryer - FotheringtonTomas
>> can anyone suggest a reason for such a sudden catastrophic failure?