Non-motoring > Hospital Food Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Perky Penguin Replies: 40

Hospital Food - Perky Penguin
A segment today on BBC TV news re hospital food. Having spent one night in hospital in my life and being fed by my Mother, I suppose, I have no real knowledge of hospital food on a plate. The point being made was that, in many cases it ranged from poor to inedible. Bearing in mind that people spend some money at home on feeding themselves it wouldn't seem a bad idea to make a contribution in hospital to improve the food. I think this would fall flat on its face as the NHS would create such a bureacracy to administer the scheme that it would cost more to run than it would collect. The point was also made that poor food is tolerable for for a short stay but the man commenting had been in hospital for over 6 weeks and hadn't been offered anything appetising or nourishing in the whole time he was in
 Hospital Food - Cliff Pope
You would have thought the provision of good food would be an investment. Wouldn't patients get well sooner on decent food, so free up those valuable beds?
Half-starving them so that they succumb to hospital infections sounds a typically short-sighted policy.
Then they could turn the heating down and open a few windows.
 Hospital Food - R.P.
I think there is some programme in the pipeline - no doubt another advertorial by the Beeb, by placing it in a news-segment.
 Hospital Food - Iffy
Sounds like a job for Jamie Oliver.
 Hospital Food - MD
Sounds like a job for any good Mother.
 Hospital Food - John H
>> I think there is some programme in the pipeline

The Truth About Hospital Food is on Channel 4 tonight at 8pm.
review here tinyurl.com/5rqrh4q
(sorry, another DailyMail link).
Last edited by: John H on Mon 21 Feb 11 at 10:46
 Hospital Food - R.P.
Haha thanks John - BBC not promoting it then !
 Hospital Food - John H
>> The Truth About Hospital Food is on Channel 4 tonight at 8pm.