Non-motoring > Education is a con trick Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Tooslow Replies: 36

Education is a con trick - Tooslow
Following on from the post on opportunities for young people, it occurs to me that modern education is a con. It is an industry set up and run for the benefit of those within it, the teachers, lecturers, examiners and so forth. There is a constantly inflating demand for “qualifications” possibly from those too dim to assess people or too mean to employ people and allow them to develop, as discussed elsewhere.

I worked in IT. I have a degree, in Computer Science as it happens. I worked with people who left school at 15 with no qualification or at 16 with O levels. They were darned good people. So what did my degree get me? I can’t remember applying very much of it. I do remember (for example) spending weeks learning ever more sophisticated ways of sorting data, culminating in (iirc) the Reverse Polyphase sort, which relied on tape drives that could read backwards as well as forward. When I started work I discovered that you used a utility called Syncsort, chucked the data and some parameters at it and the result popped out the far side. No one had mentioned that!