Non-motoring > PlayStation hacker took user info Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Bellboy Replies: 11

PlayStation hacker took user info - Bellboy
www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-13192359

is this frightening or what
Last edited by: smokie on Tue 26 Apr 11 at 22:58
 sony - rtj70
Mods change the title. Yes this is worrying BB. For someone like Sony to be lacks on security is not good. What about the smaller companies like Apple. :-)
 sony - RattleandSmoke
Surely it was all encrypted using the highest strength ciphers?
 sony - Zero
Nah, anyway, if you break into the right part you get the keys.
 sony - Bellboy
looks a crap title now
i do adverts for a living to grab attention and this dont do it
sony
did
Last edited by: Bellboy on Tue 26 Apr 11 at 23:04
 sony - VxFan
>> looks a crap title now

Gives the reader half a clue as to what the thread is about though. On other forums where I don't have to read each and every thread, I give the vague titled ones a miss.

>> i do adverts for a living to grab attention and this dont do it

Vague titles don't grab attention though.
 PlayStation hacker took user info - Skoda
Sony annoyed some bad guys with their handling of 'geohot', one of the guys who circumvented the security built into the ps3 devices.

I don't really like Sony, they're not the Audio / Visual wizards they were when I was growing up. Their approach to customers is really bad.

The last big story to make the normal press was when sony installed some nefarious software (made it possible to completely hide the presence of files and software from the PCs owner, which was used by Sony to hide it's spying software, but then used by other unsavoury types to hide their bad stuff) on users PCs without telling them and deliberately written to prevent un-installing.
Last edited by: Skoda on Wed 27 Apr 11 at 08:03
 PlayStation hacker took user info - Londoner
>> I don't really like Sony, they're not the Audio / Visual wizards they were when