Non-motoring > Buying advice for my first 'smart' phone Miscellaneous
Thread Author: legacylad Replies: 33

Buying advice for my first 'smart' phone - legacylad
First of all I am not very technical!
Increasingly friends show me their wonderful apps...how far have we skied today, total ascent & descent, where are we in the resort (its snowing a blizzard!). Finding the best rated mexican food within 6 blocks.Train times, museum opening hours etc etc
So, should I go for an android such as an HTC or Samsung Galaxy, or just get an IPhone? When used with a Mac Pro the latter seems the best option, although I do not have a Mac I am now seriously considering buying one.The idea of checking emails on the go, which when deleted would also be deleted from my 'base' Mac is very appealing, as are easy transfer of photos between the two and downloading music and transferring it between the two.
Suggestions would be much appreciated.
 Buying advice for my first 'smart' phone - R.P.
iPhone - you don't see any moans on here about dodgy operating systems. My 4 is brilliant, Blackberry is still an upgrade option I may consider as I prefer the e-mail system.
 Buying advice for my first 'smart' phone - Zero
Iphone

Using I cloud everything can be synched or transferred.
All my photos from the camera are delivered straight into iPhoto on my MacBook and onto the iPAD it is a very good interface.
thats what I thought Zero. Some friends rave about this 'cloud' thing, and the idea of emailing photos to friends with other smart phones really appeals.
I admit to being behind the times, but this capability has many usesapart from social.
Last edited by: legacylad on Thu 1 Mar 12 at 22:36
 Buying advice for my first 'smart' phone - ....
What's your primary use legacylad ? If you want a phone then an iPhone is a pile of poo...but then do you want your browsing history published for Google to exploit from Android (not that Apple would ever consider such a thing).