Computer Related > Cisco training help Computing Issues
Thread Author: nice but dim Replies: 4

Cisco training help - nice but dim
I've been doing IT support for the last 15 years and during that time I have no formal qualification apart from an old 70-270 XP MCP 7 years ago which is soon to be obsolete. I want to take the next step to undertake network infrastructure to hopefully lead me in to a more purposeful IT career, I've had basic Fortigate admin exposure along with DHCP in my current job, but basically nothing. I'm looking at the basic level Cisco stuff along with some old routers and switches to help me along the way. What exactly do I need, my budget isn't huge maybe £100-120 to get the ball rolling. There seems to be healthy market for old equipment on ebay aimed at the get certified market. Am I thinking right? If I leave it any longer I maybe at a dead end and be putting myself out of work.
Last edited by: nice but dim on Sat 15 Feb 14 at 11:46
 Cisco training help - RattleandSmoke
I thought about doing this but it might help you get a job but it won't get you the job. I thought about doing it at a college but it would have cost too much. I don't really use it in my current job and I want to get into teaching instead
 Cisco training help - Zero
>> I've been doing IT support for the last 15 years and during that time I
>> have no formal qualification apart from an old 70-270 XP MCP 7 years ago which
>> is soon to be obsolete. I want to take the next step to undertake network
>> infrastructure to hopefully lead me in to a more purposeful IT career, I've had basic
>> Fortigate admin exposure along with DHCP in my current job, but basically nothing. I'm looking
>> at the basic level Cisco stuff along with some old routers and switches to help
>> me along the way. What exactly do I need, my budget isn't huge maybe £100-120
>> to get the ball rolling. There seems to be healthy market for old equipment on