Computer Related > Macbook, Chromebook etc for student?? Buying / Selling
Thread Author: Fenlander Replies: 16

Macbook, Chromebook etc for student?? - Fenlander
Always good computer advice here in the past so...

Eldest is fed up with carting her conventional laptop (15.6" screen I think) about Uni so wants something smaller/lighter for her remaining two years.

Her study use is the usual office programs for word/excel/powerpoint type stuff plus net access. Then for personal use it's net browsing, Netflix, Facebook etc.

We've agreed to fund 50% which would allow her to go to the giddy heights of a MacBook.

I have no experience at all of this type of thing keeping to desktops and full size laptops.

Any thoughts or links to good choices appreciated.
 Macbook, Chromebook etc for student?? - No FM2R
Can you break down her usage a bit more?

i.e. perhaps she needs MS Office and x, y and z in her flat, but perhaps only needs net access and note taking on the move. Or not, but investigate.

Because perhaps the conventional laptop at home, essentially used as a desktop, could be paired with a tablet for wandering around.

Data sync between them is pretty easy.

If, however, she needs all the things you state all the time, then she probably already has the right solution.

I guess a physically smaller laptop could work.

Changing to a Mac will not solve any of the mentioned problems, albeit that perhaps she just wants one.
 Macbook, Chromebook etc for student?? - Zero
Assuming you have discounted pads.....

IF (and its a big IF) you can afford it, then a MacBook air is the single most useful, portable rounded and delightful computing experience.

www.apple.com/uk/shop/buy-mac/macbook-air?afid=p238%257CsY8hI3Kvz-dc_mtid_187079nc38483_pcrid_64626336481_&cid=aos-uk-kwg-pla-mac-slid-&product=MJVM2B/A&step=config

Next choice would be a windows slab

www.asus.com/UK/Notebooks_Ultrabooks/ASUS_Transformer_Book_T100_Chi/