Computer Related > Building a computer.... Legal Questions
Thread Author: No FM2R Replies: 27

Building a computer.... - No FM2R
This is posted seeking an answer from Zero, but by all means I am happy to listen to anybody. The sad truth is that I am a hardware expert from the days when Compact MicroVAX, VAX/VMS and RD54s rules the world. I would have asked Zero privately in an email but I thought others might be interested.

The daughters needs a gaming machine, I would prefer not to spend hugely on the subject.

I am trying to combine limiting my immediate expenditure but retaining expansion possibilities.

So, what's wrong with this?

Intel Core i3-8100
GeForce GTX 1060 6G
MSI Z370-A Pro
DDR4-2400 8GB
Crucial MX300 275GB
EVGA 450W 80+ Bronze PSU

plus a case.

Like I said, I no longer know about such stuff. e.g. does buying an i3 limit me in some way that buying an i7 would not? Though it seems that MB can cope with most of today's CPUs so upgrade is always possible.

I know more disk space will be required, I have a s***load of unused disks. Ditto monitors, keyboards and mouses (or mice).

My technical expertise is faded to the point where part numbers and product names help me more than capability and functionality descriptions.

As Zero mentioned to me, I have peculiar local supply restrictions. But i have a one off opportunity since a friend is moving from the States to here and is bringing a large container. So I can sneak stuff in.

Thoughts?
 Building a computer.... - rtj70
>> Intel Core i3-8100
You said a gaming machine - too slow. You need something fast to feed the GPU. AMD's Ryzen CPUs are very good. But if you insist on Intel than an i5 at a minimum. If you don't intend upgrading in the future, an older generation i7 might be a good buy.

>> GeForce GTX 1060 6G
New Nvidia Turing GPUs due soon - some bargains no doubt to be had. High end GPU's have been expensive of late because of bitcoin miners.

>> DDR4-2400 8GB