Computer Related > Can't connect to wireless. Miscellaneous
Thread Author: - Replies: 17

Can't connect to wireless. - -
SWM has been given a spare laptop, it's a Toshiba Equium M50-164, which she wants to use for some of her work stuff.

We have wireless internet at home...it's secure.

Trying to connect using the long WEP key on the orange livebox but it won't have it.

Is there something obvious she's doing wrong, or need to do please.
 Can't connect to wireless. - Zero
Make sure your router is set to support 802.11b/g
>> Make sure your router is set to support 802.11b/g

Thanks Z, now just for a moment imagine that i'm a thicko truck driver, you know a green overalled salt of the earth type who wouldn't know what on earth any of that means..;)
ok

who makes your router?
It's an Orange livebox, works on both wired and wireless.
A 1.1, a 1.2, or a 2.0 livebox?

Can your laptop see the router over wireless?
Yes the laptop can see it (and lots more presumably neighbours).

Those numbers don't look familiar, the livebox model appears to be a 62-CO.
ok are you using the right type of encryption? What are you using?

WEP?

Using the right key index? A or 1 usually
 Can't connect to wireless. - AshT
I think Orange Liveboxes are usually set up with WPA by default - if the label on the box states WEP it may be incorrect.
GB

How on earth did you end up with French Electronics being at the heart of your internet,

Get rid, get a proper router.

anyway, this may help

www.totalfrance.com/france/forum/viewtopic.php?t=87625
 Can't connect to wireless. - Focusless
>> How on earth did you end up with French Electronics being at the heart of
>> your internet,

It's not just Orange - O2 send out Thomson boxes. Mine's been ok, so far...
 Can't connect to wireless. - Stuartli
Many laptops have a small switch on one of the edges to turn the wireless facility on or off.

Might be worth a check?
 Can't connect to wireless. - rtj70