Computer Related > A good free firewall? Miscellaneous
Thread Author: FotheringtonTomas Replies: 24

A good free firewall? - FotheringtonTomas
This for a "not very computer-literate at all" older user.
Bother. Can someone move this to "Computer related", please?

-----> Kick
Last edited by: VxFan on Tue 22 Mar 11 at 12:48
At least, that's what I suppose he needs - the machine's running XP Home 2002 SP3, connecting via a BT home hub. An O/S upgrade is very unlikely indeed.

Distressing wobbly bits and rude remarks keep popping up on his screen, and it takes me time to get rid of these, and he gets it in the neck when these are observed...
 A good free firewall? - FocalPoint
I use Comodo System Cleaner - I see they do free Firewall and Anti-Virus stuff, but I've no experience of it.

personalfirewall.comodo.com/free-download.html
Last edited by: ChrisPeugeot on Tue 22 Mar 11 at 11:40
 A good free firewall? - Perky Penguin
SFAIK Windows has a built in firewall. I have used Zone Alarm free and it seems to do the basics. I actually use their extreme security version which includes anit-virus as well and is about £30 a year for use on 3 computers.
 A good free firewall? - John H
>> At least, that's what I suppose he needs - the machine's running XP Home 2002
>> SP3, connecting via a BT home hub.

I think that these 2 together could work:

1. XP's IE7 & IE8 built in controls
windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Internet-Explorer-Content-Advisor-frequently-asked-questions

2. Hosts file
www.hosts-file.net/
www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm

or, use the technique explained here
www.ericphelps.com/security/pac.htm

>> An O/S upgrade is very unlikely indeed.
>>
If you/he change mind, and if the PC hardware is up to it,
www.hotukdeals.com/search?action=search&keywords=windows+7+upgrade
Additional link to go in 1.
windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Using-Content-Advisor-to-help-block-inappropriate-web-content

Last edited by: John H on Tue 22 Mar 11 at 12:24