Non-motoring > Boeing 737 Max Company Cars
Thread Author: No FM2R Replies: 19

Boeing 737 Max - No FM2R
I can't find the original thread, though I thought there was one. Anyway...

www.bbc.co.uk/news/resources/idt-sh/boeing_two_deadly_crashes

I'm no expert on this, but whoever is personally responsible in Boeing it does rather seem that the company itself needs a serious hammering since their decisions caused a lot of people to die, seemingly needlessly.

The FAA clearly needs a red-hot poker, also.
 Boeing 737 Max - sooty123
I remember reading that when it was first published, the first thing I thought was, what other aircraft have got problems lurking?
 Boeing 737 Max - henry k
www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/m00077cw/panorama-boeings-killer-planes

mattstoller.substack.com/p/the-coming-boeing-bailout
 Boeing 737 Max - Bromptonaut
>> I remember reading that when it was first published, the first thing I thought was,
>> what other aircraft have got problems lurking?

Airbus machines have caught pilots out when the computers have removed the protections that normally stop them from doing something that might endanger the aircraft (see Air France 447). That though is stuff pilots are supposed to have been trained about but in reality it's shown up a number, including AF447, as lacking basic stick and rudder skills.

Over reliance on the automatics is not just an Airbus thing; there's an AAIB report on a Boeing 757 at Newcastle showing similar issues.

I think the difference with MAX8 is that the software that caused the problem was not properly explained and documented as part of the conversion training.

Thinking some more maybe Kegworth, where differences training between 737 versions with 'clockwork' instruments and those with electronic displays might have been a factor was writing on the wall.........
I was more thinking of issues that aren't in the public domain or that of operators.
Last edited by: sooty123 on Thu 1 Aug 19 at 20:37