Motoring Discussion > Driving abroad as named driver Tax / Insurance / Warranties
Thread Author: smokie Replies: 7

Driving abroad as named driver - smokie
Any issues with the above? We're planning a motoring tour next spring (France, Belgium, Netherlands, Germany) and I'd prefer to take SWMBOs car, but there's no way she would drive abroad.
Last edited by: smokie on Tue 29 Oct 19 at 16:07
 Driving abroad as named driver - Fullchat
Firstly check the policy. I have found that when they talk about 'extends to cover abroad', slipped in there can be the words 'minimum cover' which means 3rd party cover only. So you could be without cover to your own vehicle and collision recovery costs.

For not a great deal of money on my wife's car, on which I am a named driver, the insurance company extended the full cover and conditions of the police into Europe for the time I required. The also issued a Green Card (which isn't required at the moment). It does of course necessitate a phone call. Think it was Direct Line.
Thanks. My previous understanding was that your own cover gives minimum legal cover in each EU country (which varies from country to country) but paying extra for a green card brought the level of insurance to that you have at home - though thinking about it, that's probably just the insurer I was with at the time. ( I have a feeling that may have been Direct Line, and the green card was free for 3 or 5 days but about £30 for a week or so).

You've made me think though that a phone call is probably the best place for me to get a reliable answer.
 Driving abroad as named driver - CGNorwich
Just read your policy. You will be covered automatically for TP cover throughout the EU as stated in your certificate. Your policy most likely also gives full coverage for say 30 days whilst abroad. Some companies may require notice of foreign use but this is becoming more unusual unless you exceed the maximum period granted automatically by the policy.