Motoring Discussion > Drug Driving Miscellaneous
Thread Author: zippy Replies: 11

Drug Driving - zippy
A close family friend as died in hospital after being knocked off his bicycle by a driver who was arrested at the scene after being found to have drugs in his system.

Lost for any other words.
 Drug Driving - Robin O'Reliant
I am very sorry to hear that Zippy, condolences to yourself and all those effected.

Drug driving has only recently been realised to be the huge problem it is. During two decades as a driving instructor I only ever had to refuse one lesson because the pupil had alcohol on his breath, but quite a few were turned away and warned about coming out reeking of weed, which is easily detectable. I have no doubt I took many a lesson with people who were on pills of one sort or another.
Last edited by: Robin O'Reliant on Fri 1 Nov 19 at 18:44
 Drug Driving - Bobby
Really sorry to hear that Zippy.

Interestingly, for whatever reason, Scotland have only just last week introduced the drug swipe kits for the traffic police - something I have seen in the Interceptor type programmes for ages.

Lots of fightback from drug users especially those who like a joint - apparently it can stay in your system for a long time afterwards.
 Drug Driving - Kevin
Unfortunately it's much more common that most people think Zippy.

Drug driving seems to be more common than drink driving in the "In Court this Week" section of our local fishwrap.

What message is this sending?

www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-berkshire-50219544
 Drug Driving - Bromptonaut
Mark Redknapp, son of Harry and older brother of TV pundit Jamie, has been banned for 3 years and fined £5k after being found guilty of drug driving. The substance was cocaine and the limit breached by a factor of five.

Report from Mirror:

www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/harry-redknapps-son-banned-road-20766509

Unusually for a Magistrates' Court case the Judges decision and rationale have been published too: