De-registering a car, is the dealer being truthful - sho
wonder if anyone can help me. as a lady driver I have recently purchased a new nissan. the dealership organised my cherished transfer etc. when the car arrived in the showroom it was the wrong colour. On telling the manager I didnt want it, he agreed to replace with the correct colour, BUT I would have to write to him for the DVLA a letter stating I no longer wanted the car or that colour, in order for the car to be de-registered and my cherished number used on the correct car when it arrived. He said it wasnt acceptable for him to do this and admit the dealerships error. If the letter is not written from me the number has to stay on the car . feel a bit pd off that I have to write a letter which is not true, as the dvla are closed today I wondered if anyone could shed some light

Subject line made make/model non-specific.

Edited by Pugugly on 25/08/2008 at 18:14

de registering a car, is the dealer being truthful - tawse
I am no legal expert but just reading your post all sorts of alarm bells started ringing in my head.

I suspect others on here can better advise you and if this was not HJ's forum, and hence I hope he will pick up this post and answer you, I would have advised you to go to the Daily Telegraph website, go to the Motoring section and email HonestJohn with this information and ask his advice on it.

Don't you have a receipt with the car colour on it? Surely if you have a receipt with the colour stated and the car at the dealer is the wrong colour then it is their problem and not yours?

The other place you could consider asking is here:

forum.qashqaiclub.co.uk/

But I would seek out HJ's advice first and then consider the likes of WhatCar, Autoexpress and even the AA.
de registering a car, is the dealer being truthful - NARU
I'd phrase the letter along the lines that the car had been rejected for not being the colour ordered. I certainly wouldn't use phrases such as changed mind.