Motoring Discussion > Towing with a Van Legal Questions
Thread Author: IJWS14 Replies: 7

Towing with a Van - IJWS14
Question - Van of around 2100kg kerb weight, 3500kg gross 6000kg max with trailer towing a trailer plated at 2700kg (looking at plating down).

What licence is required?

C1+E seems to be limited to trailer being less than kerb wweight of van.
B+E does not seem to have this restriction.

Direct Gov is a little confusing.
 Towing with a Van - MD
Any Gov is confusing!

For what it's worth I prefer front wheel drive for towing. I have a 3500 lwb Renault Master and tow a large trailer at times. More stable than the old rwd transit than wouldn't stop with a loaded trailer.
 Towing with a Van - Dave_
Not sure of current legislation, but I passed my car test in 1990 so I have grandfather rights as do all drivers who passed before 1997. These allow me to drive any vehicle up to 7500kg gross weight, and to tow a trailer provided the total weight of the combination does not exceed 8250kg. As I see it I can effectively drive a Ford Cargo roadworks tipper pulling a compressor, or a Transit towing pretty much anything up to the size of another Transit.

I had two jobs in the mid-1990s which involved towing with vans -

First one was driving an E-reg Transit flat bed (2000kg Unladen Weight, 3500kg Gross Vehicle Weight, 5500kg Gross Train Weight) towing a 4-wheel winch trailer with a 2,000kg reel of steel cable inside it. The trailer almost certainly weighed more than the van and had over-run brakes.

The second one was driving a P-reg Transit tipper (2200kg ULW, 3500kg GVW, 5500kg GTW) towing anything and everything plant hire-related from titchy compressors up to 4 wheel Ifor Williams jobs. The van was normally laden as well, and was fitted with a tachograph which only had to be brought into use on the first occasion in the day where something was towed, and then used for the remainder of that day. No towing all day, no tacho requirement for that day.