Motoring Discussion > Does this van exist? Miscellaneous
Thread Author: FotheringtonTomas Replies: 10

Does this van exist? - FotheringtonTomas
Well, here we go. Load length 2 metres, or just about that. Reliable. Cheap 2nd-hand bargain, £2K top. Economical if possible. 3 seats if possible. I have little experience of vans, so I'm rather at a loss. I don't care what it looks like.
 Does this van exist? - RattleandSmoke
Sounds like a long wheel base LDV Convy might do the trick, if you can live with the noise! Not sure if the LDV has a three seat option because of its narrow track, but I am sure a distance relative had a 1991 plate Leyland Daf Freight Rover with three seats.
Last edited by: RattleandSmoke on Mon 17 May 10 at 23:01
 Does this van exist? - Dave_
Yes the Convoy has 3 seats. A Transit SWB would do you too, except that there are very few "straight" ones about. Merc Vito with a few miles on would be an idea, Bedford Midi if you can find one, or even a Sprinter in the right spec. All have 3 seats, cast your net far and wide.
Last edited by: Dave_TD {P} on Mon 17 May 10 at 23:07
Tanx. 2m is the traget for the load lenght - I don'y want too much extra! 2m would be OK. A nbig 3 too much unless economical enough.
I suggested the LDV because Transits fetch a fair bit more so £1500 will probably only buy a knackered 300k P reg example.

The Sprinters are worth considering too but they seem to suffer from worse rust problems than the Transit.
 Does this van exist? - Harleyman
If the three people are only of average size, you could try looking for a Mazda E2000.

Popular with carpet fitters because it offers good load length capacity, but also narrow enough to fit on most driveways. Usual Mazda reliability I'd guess.

Downsides would be column change, quirky controls and estate-type tailgate.