Motoring Discussion > Any link between clutch and steering? Miscellaneous
Thread Author: BobbyG Replies: 14

Any link between clutch and steering? - BobbyG
As some of you may be aware, I have had problems with my Seat Altea. A noise coming from the clutch ended up with a new DMF and steering rack replaced under warranty.

But this made no difference to the noise, and the garage are now talking about stripping down the gearbox if SEAT are prepared to cover it.

However

This noise usually only happens when cold and when I am doing low speed manoeuvres that involve turning the wheel. Noise is like a grind, you feel it up through the clutch pedal, the sort of "feel" that makes you want to get your foot off the pedal as quick as you can - sort of sends a shiver up your leg!

Now I am no mechanic but surely if it only happens when the wheel is turned, then the common denominator is the steering? Is there any link between clutch and steering, power steering. Maybe thinking belts or pulleys or whatever?

Any thoughts, even of a general rather than car - specific would be appreciated.

Any link between clutch and steering? - Zero
Nearly anything that happens in the drive train can be felt through the clutch pedal. The drive train on FWD includes the steering. Can you feel anything in the steering wheel as well?

Don't think so, will check again tomorrow to be doubly sure.
 Any link between clutch and steering? - Hard Cheese

>>Is there any link between clutch and steering, power steering>>

CV joints, the outer joints swivel when the steering is turned and apply drive to the wheels at the same time when the car is manouvering.

Any link between clutch and steering? - Ted
Good point about the Cv joints. A quick test to eliminate this...see if the problem is still there with the car stationary. The CV joints and drive shafts will be at rest

With the engine running, work the clutch a few times whilst steering it from lock to lock a few times.