Motoring Discussion > Insurer requires copy of licence before cover? Tax / Insurance / Warranties
Thread Author: Tsuper Replies: 29

Insurer requires copy of licence before cover? - Tsuper
I have been a named driver on my girlfriends van insurance for a couple of years now. She changed insurer this year to get a better price, however the new company has requested copies of both our driving licences as a condition of cover. I have not heard of this before, so is this something new to prevent fronting etc. or something more sinister? All the usual questions were asked including do I personally have the use of a works van, which I do.
 Insurer requires copy of licence before cover? - Bellboy
pretty standard for any insurance company that cares
ive just changed back to my old company and they too asked for driving licence copy
only takes a few minutes to scan and print
keranga :-)
In 20 years of motoring, I hadn't come accross this before, I suppose most people have access to scanner now and it saves the insurance company a bit of time.
 Insurer requires copy of licence before cover? - Stuartli
It's a new one on me as well.

Would have thought it very easy for any insurance company to check out driving licence details if necessary.
 Insurer requires copy of licence before cover? - Pat
Both myself and mr pda had to provide copies of our driving licences when we renewed at the end of last year too.

Pat
 Insurer requires copy of licence before cover? - Cliff Pope
They seem to have access to the driving licence database anyway. When I added a friend to my insurance for a week I gave name and date of birth over the phone and they could check the licence details immediately.

I don't think insurance companies and banks actually need any of this information, they just make you supply documents to show they have the power to do so. Jobsworths have moved up-market, and are in charge now,
 Insurer requires copy of licence before cover? - FotheringtonTomas