Motoring Discussion > Test drive drill Buying / Selling
Thread Author: WillDeBeest Replies: 13

Test drive drill - WillDeBeest
Later this week I have two hours to myself in a Skoda Superb estate, the aim being to drive it around a bit and see how we get along. I'm still a bit new to doing this in this part of the world, so I don't yet have any favourite routes to try it on, although this time there is a specific regular place I need to take it to, which will add a bit of verisimilitude.

But what I'm wondering is what you do. Do you have a standard set of tests to which you submit any candidate car? In my company car days I could usually borrow one for a long business trip - did this with a Passat and an S60 and you know the result, even though I rather liked the Passat's auto wipers - but that's harder to do now. But, given a couple of hours with an unfamiliar car, what would you do to get to know it properly?
 Test drive drill - -
Traffic but not too much that it takes excessive time.

Rough roads and varying surfaces to judge noise as well as ride.

Close manoevering, you don't need to be close to another car but once in a while you might need to apply a minute amount of power to climb a kerb when close parking, can you control it fine enough to stop the car once it clears the obstacle...fine tuning as it were, most automated manuals would fail at this hurdle.
Do the mirrors show you what you need to see at this time, can you see the rear wheels, does any electronic parking assistance actually work in practice..

Engine testing, does it accelerate enough for you at the speeds you need to do, overtaking etc, do you need to play the gearbox constantly or does it have enough torque for a lazy comfortable drive too.

Handling, i use my own mixture of roads, including higher speeds for wind noise and stability.

Toys and controls, i would already have spent time in the showroom confirming such as this.
 Test drive drill - Iffy