Non-motoring > Heat shrink tubing Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Rudedog Replies: 61

Heat shrink tubing - Rudedog
OK, I've bought some heat shrink tubing to seal the ends of my laces on my walking boots (?good idea), I've never used this stuff before, so what can I use to activate it without destroying the laces? it says that it starts working at 70 degrees and is fully shrunk at 110, will a good hairdryer get up to this temp?
 Heat shrink tubing - Zero
Hair dryer? nah

Hot air paint stripper
 Heat shrink tubing - Runfer D'Hills
Maybe consider splashing out on a new pair of laces ? Or was it an especially wallet injuring Christmas this year ?

:-)
 Heat shrink tubing - CGNorwich
Truly all information is on the web. THis site will tell you how to solve all your aglet problems (that's apparently what that bit on the end of your boot lace is called ) including the use of heat shrink tubing.

Must try to use the word aglet in a conversation
tomorrow!

www.fieggen.com/shoelace/agletheatshrink.htm
Last edited by: CGNorwich on Mon 10 Jan 11 at 22:39
 Heat shrink tubing - Rudedog
Thanks, I've been on that site before for looking at different ways to lace up my boots, I must have sub-consciously remembered about using this method, BTW the laces are almost brand new but two of the tips have already come of.
Its actually one of those sites that sounds a bit odd but contains a lot of useful information. Seem to be forever tying my boot laces lately. Will try out the secure knot.
 Heat shrink tubing - Ted

I use a lot of it......never done me aglets, though.

Cigarette lighter does the job fairly instantly with out damage to anything else.

Ted
 Heat shrink tubing - Rhubarb
My method. Dab of contact adhesive on the end of the lace, slide sleeving on, rotate sleeving to spread glue, shrink sleeving with heat gun, (paint stripper), roll heatshrinked end between fingers while still hot to reduce diameter, heat again for good measure. Done!
 Heat shrink tubing - Fursty Ferret