Computer Related > Contacts Sync Tax / Insurance / Warranties
Thread Author: No FM2R Replies: 4

Contacts Sync - No FM2R
I have about 2000 contacts in Google and about 3000 in Android.

This is worrying. I'd be less worried if my Google account had the superset. They have previously been identical and I can think of no event that is relevant.

They appear to be syncing, are even reporting that they are syncing.

Any thoughts?
 Contacts Sync - smokie
Not really, except are you sure there are really 3000 unique contacts, rather than 2000 unique then a load of duplicates?
 Contacts Sync - No FM2R
Yes. In fact I am studying one particular contact as an example. It should be on both but it is only on the phone. It is in my contacts and has been for 10 years, so it has previously moved from one phone to another.

What I am noticing is that most of the contacts missing are older ones. I cannot think why that would be. I change my phone roughly once a year so they must have been through a bunch of transfers over the years.

I have worked out how to correct it, but i wish I knew what had caused it. My contacts are pretty b***** important to me and have been built up over a long period.

I can go back to a 6 month old offline backup, but until now I have been relying on the Google backups.
 Contacts Sync - Zero
You know the rules for important data

Any backup not in 3 different places is not a back up
Any backup that has not been verified is not a backup
Any backup that has not been tested in recovery is not a backup
 Contacts Sync - No FM2R
In case it should matter to anyone else, a brief summary;

Contacts can be stored on the SIM, on the Phone only or sync'd in the cloud (Google Contacts for me). When a contact is created, it will choose one of those. You can set the default you use, but that doesn't mean everything else will use the same default. Skype for example.