Computer Related > VPN Computing Issues
Thread Author: Lemma Replies: 13

VPN - Lemma
I find I am managing more and more financial and other information on my desktop and other internet kit. I have heard a few horror stories from friends about being hacked etc. One had his identity stolen and it took three years to sort out the issues.yikes!

I only use Apple kit, but want to make sure it is as secure as possible. I have checked out the idea of using a VPN and have come across Surfshark. It gets good write ups and there is a deal available for less than £2 a month.

I have no experience or real idea about these tools, but what’s not to like for a couple of pounds? I would welcome any views one way or the other?

Many thanks
 VPN - No FM2R
Most stuff is lost by stupid, unwary or clumsy users.

Look at your internet habits, consider your approach to opening emails & attachments, consider your anti-malware approach, consider your software installation habits, consider your password discipline, and then consider your habits again.

A VPN stops your ISP detecting what you are doing. There is little guarantee of much else, though plenty of promises, hope and optimism.
 VPN - Stuartli
I use ProtonVPN (free version) and it works fine for me others to who I've recommended it. No data limits and no noticeable download speeds being affected.

protonvpn.com/

Review:

uk.pcmag.com/vpn/116478/protonvpn
 VPN - smokie
I use NordVPN, who have had some very cheap two year deals (though not as cheap as you mention for suresurf or whatever it was).

I suppose I'd be interested to know if other VPNs have the same problems as I intermittently get:

1) occasionally can't reach my usual sites at all as their servers must go down or something
2) more frequent I get rejected by sites because NordVPNs server IPs are known, and are a source of spam (which is what many use VPN for) - so are blocked